Fucking fuck fuck

Image

In my advanced age, I try not to get worked up by much, which is fairly easy since not much works me up.  But I had this fire put into me by my dad, and at moments of crippling incredulity, it ignites and all that I can do is spew obscenities in some useless attempt of making things fit in my head.  I cannot believe that there are people who are choosing to maintain their power in exchange for the loss of jobs and further degradation of the shitty conditions that the poor live in in this country.  That it is just accepted that it is ok for politicians to screw millions of citizens so that they can, I don’t know, maintain their speakership, makes me so angry my head buzzes.  That so little rationality is applied in our government is just a fact that can’t be changed.

And so I turn to philosophers – who take the “fucking fuck fuck” buzz in our brains that is the enigma, doubt, confusion of human existence and attempt to establish patterns, insight, and calls for rational thought.  Tonight I am turning to Hannah Arendt (pictured above) to soothe me.  If you are railing against the government tonight, like I am, maybe it will help you…

“Courage is indispensible because in politics not life but the world is at stake.”
― Hannah ArendtBetween Past and Future

Here is to courage… and if in your life you find yourself choosing to do something where the only discernible benefit is keeping your power over others, please reconsider.  For the philosophers.

Leave a Reply

