American Treasure!

Since the Fourth of July, I have been ruminating on American treasures.  DH and I spend a lot of our time ensconsed in UK media.  DH consumes almost exclusively news, music, television, and radio from the Mother country.  And I (sometimes begrudgingly) have come to love lots of it, most notably James May wandering around drinking things and the BBC 4 News Quiz.  But I still get my nose bent when these shows “slag off” the US.  We are such a diverse, big land, that painting us all with one brush is not only unfair, but inaccurate.  But that can be said about all humor that pokes fun at any group of people, even playfully, so I get over myself.

But I still wanted to create my own list of examples of American treasure – things that seem uniquely “us” that I love.  And the timing is good as we just got back from a loooooong roadtrip where we saw LOTs of the US.

1. Tom Hanks’ neck
2. Jeff Tweedy’s voice in “She’s a Jar”
3. Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s garden in Omaha
4. The CJ Cregg character in The West Wing – especially the episode when it is her first day as Chief of Staff
5. The San Francisco mix from Fuel Friends – listening to it when driving 75 on the interstate while leaving Nebraska and driving into Wyoming
6. The sea otters at the Monterey Bay Aquarium
7. Listening to baseball on the radio, drinking a bottle of cheap beer
8. Hawaiian pizza (with fake ham, of course)
9. Wait, Wait! Don’t Tell Me podcasts
10. Lauren Graham being awesome in Gilmore Girls or Parenthood

I encourage you to come up with your own list, especially right now when there seems to be a preponderance of idiocy at many levels of our government and society.  But don’t let the BBC know I said that.

Cheers 😉

Leave a Reply

