Mix!

 

A couple years ago I got rid of my CD rack downstairs and put all the cds in two big shopping bags.  With every intention of burning the CDs and selling them.  The bags consisted of only a smidgeon of my full CD collection – pared down to my favorite artists and my mix CDs.

Luckily I am finding that about 3/4 of the CDs have already been imported – which makes sense since it is my favorite stuff.  So I am working through the 30+ CDs that still need to be imported.  And finding some fun stuff….

There is The Bootleg Searies – Volume 1: The Quine Tapes Velvet Underground 3-disc set that I leant to a friend so long that I eventually had to send an impassioned e-mail to get it back.  Today I opened the cardboard sleeves to find that it delightfully still smelled like my friend’s pot.  I am imagining him smoking pot and listening to the discs over and over again while indulging and I feel sorry for asking for them back.  Once I burn them, that set will be finding their way back to him, not 1/2 price books.

There are the 16 (!) Ani DiFranco discs which I had blessedly downloaded all but the Living in Clip live 2-disc set – which is by far my favorite of all of hers – and I will be so glad to be able to grab my iPad and get “Joyful Girl” performed live during a bad day at work – without the crappy realization once again that that song hasn’t been imported yet.

10 unimported Paste Magazine samplers – now are much easier to import because Gracenote has them in their database – not true two years ago when I tried to import them and I did about 5 with manually entering the songs and artists before giving up.  I have Paste Samplers from when Paste was a magazine and sent you CDs in the mail with the subscription.  The most recent sampler I have is #31 – they now go up to 65!!

4 (!) years of annual music exchanges with M & S – now all imported and tagged and put into a great playlist.

Lots and lots and lots of great mix CDs – that I am going to do up right with importing, putting into playlists and scanning and associating the cover artwork:

1. 30th Birthday mix CDs.  I had four parties for my birthday – one for each decade and for the 00s, 90s, and 70s parties, I have CDs.  I have two CDs for the 90s – one of my favorite music by women and one of my favorite music by men.  I have my favorite songs of the 00s – through 2004 when my 30th occurred.  And one disc of cool 70s songs that my uncle made for me with a picture of me as an adorable bald 1-year old.  He also made me a shadow disc called “What Uncle Charlie Could Have Done” full of really bad 70s music that is also staggeringly awesome.

2. Four volumes of mix CDs of the favorite songs of me and my bandmates when we were in a band together.  So glad these aren’t lost to the sands of time.

3. Two volumes of music about language and hating one’s job that I made for my friends B, S, and I when we all had editing jobs and would spend all night in the office together editing hundreds of pages of text for tight deadlines.

4. The sweet mix CDs my husband made for me when we were dating.  My favorite is entitled “Science, Travel, Silliness”.

5. A mix cd of weirdly awesome techno dance music that a young man made for me to thank me for hiring him.  That man no longer is young, but the music still is too hip for me.

6. A CD of “theme” songs that I made for myself when I needed inspiration during a tough time.  Can’t believe I thought some of theme were “me” – but it is a nice little personally, if not egoticstally, historic disc.

There were a lot of mix CDs that I had made – mostly breakup songs – that I didn’t keep.  But I am keeping the best.

Leave a Reply

