Feeling Rich!

I sit next to a rich guy at work.  I mean seriously rich.  Not just big-house-in-Olathe rich.  Parents-with-vacation-mansions-in-distant-lands rich.  Sometimes I feel really sad sitting next to him because that kind of wealth is probably forever out of my reach.  And I am not as well off as my parents by the time they were my age and I had a lot more advantages than them.  I crave the luxury to relax about money – i.e. pay for college. I crave lots of worldly, luxurious travel.  I crave a new car. 

But I know I don’t need those things to make a happy life.  And with continued focus on long term goals I can reduce my anxiety about money.  That doesn’t mean I don’t feel a little green-eyed monstery about people who have too much money and have always had too much money.

After a day spent overhearing conversations about expensive kitchen remodels and island vacations I was feeling a little bummed as I made my way home.

And then I walked in and the delicious scent of the vegetarian Indian food my husband had made for dinner hit me.  And I felt rich.  And I decided that feeling rich isn’t always about having enough or too much money… and decided to come up with a list of things that make me feel rich:

1. Dinner with my sweet friends, laughing our butts off so much that we are *those people* who get nasty glares from the other diners.

2. An afternoon free of meetings.

3. My homemmade funky, happy winter acoutrement – wrist warmers, scarves, etc.

4. When the kids jump and squeal and hug me when I get home because they are happy to see me.

5. When my car makes it through an oil change yet again without the soul-crushing call that major repairs are needed.  (Nothing can make a person feel poorer than a car that needs to be fixed a lot.)

6. When I exercise every day I planned to in a week.

7. Chinese tofu curry at Blue Koi.  Frickin’ yum!!

8. Packages that arrive in the mail containing a homemade marvel from a friend.

9. Slinging on my parcel bag, heading out for fun with the kids and DH.

10.  A free hour to watch bad television and not feel guilty about it because my work is done.

11. A clean, still, bright kitchen on Saturday morning.

That is a lot of things – and I know I can come up with more.  Hope you are finding the things that make you feel rich.  And if you already are rich, want to buy me lunch at Blue Koi?  😉

5 thoughts on “Feeling Rich!

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  2. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

