Class 5/13 – Art:21 – Seasons 1 and 2

One of my goals for this year is to expand my knowledge by taking some classes. One thing I really want to learn more about is art. I never had time for art in school – the last art class I took was in grade school – and I didn’t like it much because I am all thumbs.

As an adult, one of my favorite things to do is to go to museums and look at modern art, hoping to see something that is revolutionary and beautiful to me. But I don’t know much about art… and I can only name a dozen or so artists I love, and only a handful of those are modern artists. I hate to use this phrase – but I know what I like and not much else. From the moment I stepped onto Christo and Jeanne-Claude’s sidewalks, I knew I loved beautiful and nontraditional.

Kemper Museum offered a class on getting started with Modern Art that I signed up for, was super excited for, and then it got rescheduled for a time that I couldn’t go. I was disappointed. I want to know more…

So have I mentioned my new TIVO box? Not sure… anyway, I can watch my Netflix instant queue on my TIVO… which opens a great big world of video. This weekend I tracked down a series called Art:21 about artists in the 21st century. It is off the hizzle (to use a 21st century term).

Each episode features four artists talking about their work, their thought processes. It is really good. First, it is cool to link artists to pieces I have seen in museums and loved. Second, it is always fascinating to learn about the world view of successful artists, those that are subversive and those who just love a technique or a form.

I am planning to watch each of the seasons and count each season as a class. I highly recommend the series.

One thought on “Class 5/13 – Art:21 – Seasons 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: Classes – 2010 « required writing

Leave a Reply

