Enjoy the FREAKIN’ process!!

I scoff.
Doing the things that I need to do to lose weight are not enjoyable.
Scoff.
*Not* eating a brownie when the rest of the family does. Not enjoyable.
Driving to the gym after a wretched day of work and changing in the bathroom. Not enjoyable.
Squelching the desire to eat something after my last meal for the day because, really, I have eaten enough. Not enjoyable.
That feeling of pain and exhaustion and defeat when I am in the middle of a tough workout and I don’t think I will get through it. Not enjoyable.
Finding a parking space at the gym. Not enjoyable.
Salad. Not enjoyable.
Oatmeal instead of waffles. Not enjoyable.
Situps… not enjoyable.
But that is the process… right?
Scoff.
I am reaching down and trying to find some enjoyable things in the process. I do it every day for work, I need to do it for losing and maintaining weight also… that is the way to get there.
I think a better metaphor for me is the 90/10 of joy rule. Some youngster hipster was talking on the wireless the other day about how being a musician is like all jobs…. 90% of it is slogging, and 10% is pure joy. That totally synched with me. I don’t believe in soul mates or dream jobs. But I do believe in work and love. I love my job and feel it is a good fit for me… but 90% is slog. That is just the truth. But 10% is pure joy…
A fellow employee thanking you for helping them solve a problem…
Getting a pat on the back from my boss…
Laughing with a colleague…
Finishing a task at 9:30PM with other overworked, overjoyed-to-be-done coworkers…
Solving a problem…
Finding a problem before it is too late…
Settling into complete a not-so-bad, detail-y task for several hours and thinking, “I get *paid* for this.”
Most is slog, but a precious bit is wonderfulness enough that the slog is worth it. And 10% of a nine-hour day is 54 minutes… honestly, that ain’t bad. (It would be great if I could get all of my 10% in one day, but that isn’t realistic.)
How can I apply this to exercising and eating right?
Well, like my job, I need to find the pieces that fit the best with me. Improving my compatibility to the process will improve my chances of finding the 10%, I thinks. My last job didn’t have the 10%, that’s for sure. As my days have become more people-intensive, I find that I prefer my exercise to be solitary. I prefer short, intense workouts. I prefer crunchy, cold food. I like checklists and goals. I like schedules but aren’t good at sticking to them. I need flexibility for a sometimes chaotic and sometimes boring life.
What is my 10% of enjoyment:
The feeling of clear lungs, head, muscles at the end of a tough workout…
Tangerines and Clementine’s…
Frozen bananas and chocolate soymilk…
The tiny move down on the scale…
Nature…
Sleeping soundly…
The cool air on my face when I leave the gym…
Seeing the number of miles increase on my tracking spreadsheet…
Reaching the top step on the fourth and last flight…
The gold star on my calendar…
I know as my process leads to progress my joy will increase… so I have those things until I get there.
I am not scoffing at that.

Leave a Reply

