Cultural Event 2/13 – The Kemper


For our Valentine’s Day celebration, DH and I ate at Cafe Sebastienne and wandered about the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art. It was very, very enjoyable.

My favorite piece is Still Life With Open Book by Janet Fish. I love still lifes most of all, and I think this one is really good. In fact I think all of Janet Fish’s work is brilliant. When I was 16 I went with my parents to Boston, and roamed the galleries there. I fell in love with a painting by Janet Fish. It reminded me so much of a table that would be set by my great grandmother. I bought a HUGE print of the painting, with no place to put it, vowing that I would put it in my own dining room someday. And 13 years later I hung it in the dining room in my house.
Since coming back from the Kemper I have been reading all I can about Janet Fish and viewing pictures online. It is mind boggling how beautifully she paints glass and light and all the trappings of a gracious life. I rarely wish for wealth, but to have money to spare to buy a real Janet Fish painting, or even a limited screenprint, is making me do so right now. I guess the good thing is that I can always go to the Kemper and see one up close.
One thought on “Cultural Event 2/13 – The Kemper

  1. Pingback: Cultural and Natural Events – 2010 « required writing

Leave a Reply

