Giving In!

Here are some indicators that I might be running myself too ragged:

1. I schedule eight workouts a week.
2. When I think of how I like to spend my downtime, I imagine sitting on the couch and watching bad reality television instead of beading, knitting, hanging out with friends, gardening, or doing many of the things I like to do.
3. I feel like facebooking and blogging have become a new set of to-dos rather than something I want to do.
4. Two people in the last two weeks have told me that I reschedule on them a lot.
5. I have been really sick three times in the last six weeks.
6. I feel like there is too much life to be able to enjoy any of it – family, work, or extracurricular pursuits.

I need to figure out a way to gain some more time back. Because I need to maintain friendships and I need to craft. Those are two things that make me me… and if I don’t do them, I am not sure who I am.

I realize I need to cut back on the expectations I have of myself. So what do I do?

I am not sure – but here are some ideas, some things I am going to try.
1. I think one thing I can do is to do the things that energize me even when I don’t have any energy – namely hanging out with friends, crafting, and blogging.
2. Adjust my yearly goals so that I work out six times per week, not eight. So I am cutting my mileage goal down from 750 to 650 and my classes goal down from 112 to 56. Drastic measures, but I think good.
3. Try again to get into a schedule where I am working out in the mornings. Lately I have been doing my mileage after work, which makes me feel like I have less time in a day.
4. Report my goals on this blog once a month instead of once a week.

I will let you know how it goes… this weekend I am resetting. I am seeing friends twice, I am going to craft a little, make some bread, cuddle my dog… just exist.

2 thoughts on “Giving In!

  1. I learn so much from you, G! Instead of just giving in (essentially quitting)when I am struggling with a goal, I should consider modifying the goal. It’s brilliantly simple, but not something I had considered before. Thank you for sharing that!

  2. Hallelujah! I can finally not feel like such a lazy schlep. Isn’t it crazy the way crafting give you energy? I’ve decided to give crazy quilting a whack…it’s so up my alley…and all I’ve done so far is google it and get books from the library on it and it makes me giddy! I’m not thrilled that you’re not blogging as often, but I’ll live…

Leave a Reply

