A Few Quick Ones!

It seems lately that this blog has become obsessed with beading and weight loss, so rather than rename the blog The Weighty Bead or Beaded Fat (I just came up with those off the top of my head – I should come up with blog titles for a living!), I am going to demonstrate that I think about and do other things. How about that??
The theme of this list are some good things that I reccomend doing that don’t take much time.

1. Read A Few Quick Ones by P.G. Wodehouse. A collection of adorable short stories that doesn’t take any time at all to devour. And you will get to see why he is one of the greatest writers in the English language.

2. Write a one-sentence journal. I am doing this pretty religously this year. It is a reccomendation from the very wise Gretchen. Every day I write one memorable thing from the day. I think it will be a good way to remember all the small, but wonderful things from this year.

3. Read What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami. This was a reccomendation from Art Blog by Bob. It is a quick read (or in my case, a quick listen – I got the book on CD from the library), and it is very interesting. He talks about the discipline of running – from the philosophical to the mundane. He participated in an extreme marathon – which is like 60 miles or something. His book is a quiet inspiration to me as I begin to make exercise an every day part of my life. (Not that I want to run extreme marathons.) If you love exercise, or want to love exercise, but tend to be slightly over-intellectual or solitary, I strongly reccomend this book.

4. Watch the videos about dogs on the recent post by Dooce. So freakin’ cute!!!!! I wish Annie had an elephant.

5. Write a note to a friend and actually mail it. I recently got a card from S sending her condolences about Raindrop, and it meant so much to me. Getting stuff in the mail is so great – I think I may go to Hallmark today.

6. Exfoliate with a sugar scrub. Aging is a funny thing. Never before have I had dry skin, but this year it has hit me hard. But 5 minutes in the shower with a good sugar scrub (I luuuuv Mandarin Lime from Bath and Body Works) and I feel normal again.

7. Watch the United States of Tara on Showtime. I watched it because it stars John Corbett and Toni Collete, both of whom are delectable. But it is really cute, disturbing, uplifting, and funny all at once. Definitely a good show for anybody who survived a rough family.

8. Pick up! DH and I had friends over for dinner last night, and part of the process was picking up the house. Clearing the clutter has made me feel very happy today.

9. Go for a walk. The weather was warm enough for DH and I to walk outside today. It was wonderful – led to lots of thoughts of spring.

10. Create a map of where you have been. DH pointed it out on his blog and I did my own version. It is really fun – and makes me want to go more places.

Here is where I have been in the U.S. – I didn’t count states I have just driven through:

visited 25 states (50%)
Create your own visited map of The United States or try another Douwe Osinga project

And here is where I have been in the world – quite pitiful, actually:

visited 10 states (4.44%)
Create your own visited map of The World or try another Douwe Osinga project

11. Leave a comment on somebody’s blog. I think anybody who blogs loves to get comments.

One thought on “A Few Quick Ones!

  1. I got to read something excellent over Christmas–my grandmother’s stepfather’s 5 year diary. It was so cool–it was one sentence a day every day for five years–each daily page had five spaces on it, so you could write one sentence and look back over five years and see what you were doing on, for example, July 17th for five years in a row. So cool.Incidentally, a large number of the entries said “loafed all day.” Sounds like my kind of guy 🙂

Leave a Reply

